No condemnation by Don Francisco – aimed at failure rather than sin

I adapted the words of this song in a time when I felt discouraged. Satan whispered in my ear that I am a failure, I have no chance of getting anything right, that my very (Asperger’s) being cannot but fail. Of course, it is abnormal circumstances – or rather, people who treated me horribly – that triggered this feeling. (Note to self: Stay away from toxic people. They break you. And they make you think you are the toxic one.)

So, I changed an existing song about feeling discouraged because of sin into a song about feeling discouraged because of failure. And started singing it.

No condemnation (for failure) – Don Francisco lyrics edited by Retha Faurie

I was sitting by my window on a rainy afternoon. Everything inside my head was playing out of tune. I was thinking of the fool I made of me the night before. In front of God and everyone I failed and failed some more. I thought of all the things I’ve done and winced at things I’ve said. I wallowed in self-pity. I hung my worried head. Right when I was so far down that even up looked wrong. That’s when Jesus gave to me the chorus of this song:

Satan the accuser has been whispering in your ear. You just tell him you’re a conqueror – he’s got no business here. ‘Cause it doesn’t matter where you’ve been, it matters where I guide. Together we will win because I am on your side.

Now I could say that right away the sun burst through the clouds, and I just started singing on that chorus right out loud. But actually I moped around and blew another day before I let myself accept the words I heard Him say:

He said, Satan the accuser has been whispering in your ear. You just tell him you’re a conqueror – he’s got no business here. ‘Cause it doesn’t matter where you’ve been, it matters where I guide. Together we will win because I am on your side.

So I can’t criticize you now if you wanna take your time. Cling to all your problems, just the way I clung to mine. But now you got the answer Jesus wanted you to know. He’ll take your hopelessness away if you’ll just let it go.

And if Satan the accuser has been whispering in your ear. You just tell him you’re a conqueror – he’s got no business here. ‘Cause it doesn’t matter where you’ve been, it matters where I guide. Together we will win because I am on your side.

I don’t want to take credit for what is not mine, so I include the original for comparison:

No condemnation (for sin) – Original Don Francisco lyrics

I was sitting by my window on a rainy afternoon. Everything inside my head was playing out of tune. I was thinking of the fool I made of me the night before. In front of God and everyone I sinned and sinned some more. I thought of all the things I’ve done and winced at things I’ve said. I wallowed in self-pity. I hung my worried head. Right when I was so far down that even up looked wrong. That’s when Jesus gave to me the chorus of this song.

Satan the accuser has been whispering in your ear. You just tell him you’re forgiven – he’s got no business here. ‘Cause it doesn’t matter what you done, it matters what you’ll be. There is no condemnation if the Son has set you free.

Now I could say that right away the sun burst through the clouds, and I just started singing on that chorus right out loud. But actually I moped around and blew another day before I let myself accept the words I heard Him say.

He said, Satan the accuser has been whispering in your ear. You just tell him you’re forgiven – he’s got no business here. ‘Cause it doesn’t matter what you done, it matters what you’ll be. There is no condemnation if the Son has set you free.

So I can’t criticize you now if you wanna take your time. Cling to all your problems, just the way I clung to mine. But now you got the answer Jesus wanted you to know. He’ll take your sin and guilt away if you’ll just let them go.

And if Satan the accuser has been whispering in your ear. You just tell him you’re forgiven – he’s got no business here. ‘Cause it doesn’t matter what you done, it matters what you’ll be. There is no condemnation if the Son has set you free.

Perhaps singing this could mean something for you as well. If you need the tune, look up the DF song on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

